Sign up to get Steve Denning's FREE newsletter


You'll get tips, tricks and advance chapters from Steve's forthcoming book. Click here to sign-up for newsletter.

The World's Most Admired Knowledge Leaders 2000

Teleos and Work Frontiers International

The winners of the 2000 Most Admired Knowledge Leaders (MAKL) study, conducted by Teleos and Work Frontiers International, were announced on 13th November 2000.

To be considered a Most Admired Knowledge Leader candidate, a senior executive must: · consistently provide vision, strategic direction and leadership to the enterprise. · be ultimately accountability for the success of the enterprise by meeting or surpassing both financial and non-financial strategic enterprise goals or operational performance targets.

· serve as the primary executive sponsor, champion or spokesperson for knowledge efforts within the enterprise.

From all nominated candidates, the top ten senior executives recognized for their world-class knowledge leadership contributions to their organizations and to the New Economy are (alphabetically):

· John Seely Brown, Chief Scientist, Xerox, and Chief Innovation Officer, 12 Entrepreneuring
· Robert H. Buckman, Chairman, Executive Committee, Buckman Laboratories
· Jan R. Carendi, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Skandia
· John Chambers, Chief Executive Officer, Cisco Systems
· Stephen Denning, Program Director, Knowledge Management, World Bank
· C. Jackson Grayson, Jr., Founder, American Productivity & Quality Center
· Yotaro Kobayashi, Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
· Laurence Prusack, Director, Institute for Knowledge Management, IBM
· Hubert Saint-Onge, Senior VP of Strategic Capabilities, Clarica Life Insurance
· John F. Welch, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive, General Electric Company

The 10 runner-up 2000 Most Admired Knowledge Leaders finalists are (alphabetically):

· Michael Burtha (Director of World Wide Knowledge Networks, Johnson & Johnson)
· Michael Dell (Chief Executive Officer, Dell Computers)
· Leif Edvinsson (Chief Executive Officer, Universal Networking Intellectual Capital AB)
· Gordon Forward (President and Chief Executive Officer, Chaparral Steel Company)
· Kent Greenes (Chief Knowledge Officer/Corporate Senior VP, SAIC Inc.)
· Donald J. Hall (Chairman, Hallmark Cards)
· David Marsing (Vice President, Intel)
· Carla O'Dell (President, American Productivity & Quality Center)
· Giyora Shalgi (Chief Executive Officer, Rafael)
· Bjorn Wolrath (Chief Executive Officer, Futurizer AS).
To select the 2000 Most Admired Knowledge Leaders, senior managers at Fortune Global 500 companies and a panel of chief knowledge officers and leading knowledge management practitioners were asked to nominate senior executives and rank them against eight key drivers of outstanding knowledge-based leadership. A panel of 32 internationally recognized New Economy thought-leaders reviewed more than 100 nominations and from this distinguished group selected the 2000 Most Admired Knowledge Leaders.

For additional information, contact Rory L. Chase, Teleos,, Teleos

Read the Introduction
Watch the video
& pick up these amazing gifts!

Join our on-line
discussion group:

the World
of Work"